A Brief History of the Marque
Manufactured by Scharrer & Gross, Maschinenfabrik, Grenzstrasse 13, Nuremberg, 1926 - 1932(1). Their logo took the form "S u G" and sales literature used "S.u.G.". Also spelled Scharrer & Groß Maschinenfabrik, the firm had been operating since the 1870s and had considerable engineering experience as a constructor of large steam engines.
S & G built 350 and 500cc engines for Hecker and probably other firms which were based on the A.J.S design before constructing complete motorcycles using their own 346, 496 and 596cc SV engines. In 1927 S&G introduced 350 K and 500 K OHV models, and 1929 saw the adoption of saddle tanks.
The 600S used the 596cc sidevalve engine with a bore/stroke of 86x103mm - there are quality photographs this model at meisterdinger.de.
S.u.G. built motorcycles using 172 and 198cc Villiers two-strokes following the introduction of tax and licence-free regulations.
The firm also constructed utility 3-wheelers named Velox which were powered by the 350 and 500cc sv engines.
If you have a query or information about S & G motorcycles please contact us