Can-Am Motorcycles by Bombardier

Today in Motorcycle History

Can-Am Factory Riders

The Factory MX Riders

Team CanAm for Motocross competition started in 1974. Their first attempt at AMA National Motocross racing left CanAm holding the top 3 positions at the end of the season.

The original "All Star" team consisted of Gary Jones (#1), Marty Tripes (#2), and Jim Ellis (#3). Buck Murphy joined in 1975. Other CanAm National riders included Mike Runyard (1975), Rich Eierstedt (1978), Gary Semics (1978), Tony DiStefano (19?) and Jim Holley (1980).

Unfortunately, CanAm's interest in National MX competition dwindled over the years. Although they continued to demonstrate some factory participation in National Motocross racing through the early 80's, CanAm's last season to be listed among the top ten finishers at year's end was in 1978. Subsequent factory involvement focused primarily on National Enduro and Cross Country racing.

  • Jeff Smith
  • Buck Murphy
  • Jimmy Ellis
  • If you have a query or information about Can-Am motorcycles please contact us